U.S. Capitol Police Officer Who Shot And Killed Trump Supporter Ashli Babbitt Has Been Placed On Administrative Leave And Is Under Investigation (Update)

The U.S. Capitol Police (USCP) officer who shot and killed 35-year-old Air Force veteran and violent Trump supporter Ashli Babbitt has been placed on administrative leave and is currently under investigation, according to The Hill.

The officer, whose identity is unknown, killed Ashli as she was caught on video, forcing her way into the Speaker’s Lobby. The lobby is a hallway behind the House chamber where lawmakers, staff, and reporters typically gather during votes. Access has been restricted during the COVID-19 pandemic.

Capitol Police Chief Steven Sund said that Ashli was part of the group who forced its way toward the House chamber where lawmakers had not yet been evacuated. He noted that medical assistance was immediately given to Ashli; she was transported to the hospital but passed away due to the injury.

Chief Sund continued, “As protesters were forcing their way toward the House Chamber where Members of Congress were sheltering in place, a sworn USCP employee discharged their service weapon, striking an adult female. As per the USCP’s policy, the USCP employee has been placed on administrative leave, and their police powers have been suspended pending the outcome of a joint Metropolitan Police Department (MPD) and USCP investigation.”

Lawmakers also called for an investigation to uncover why the Capitol Police failed to hold back the violent rioters. The rioters were able to unleash terror and chaos on the nation’s legislature for several hours before law enforcement could secure the building.

The Capitol Police advised earlier this week that they planned to have extra personnel to ensure coverage for upcoming protests supporting Trump. Chief Sund also said that the Capitol Police is “conducting a thorough review of this incident, security planning, and policies and procedures.”

Want updates directly in your text inbox? Hit us up at 917-722-8057 or click here to join!

Celebrity News

Products You May Like

Articles You May Like

Kathy Hilton Appears Distracted During Mariska Hargitay’s Win
Moccamaster Deal: This Coffee Expert-Approved Coffee Maker Is 20% Off Right Now
Brittney Griner is Finally Released from Russia
Exploring the Mecca of Yachting World: The Ft. Lauderdale International Boat Show
Grumpy / Sunshine Duo Books for Fans of Wednesday and Enid

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.